Just leave me alone! (Job 7-8)

November 4, 2010

I have about 1 minute to write this post so I’ll make it snappy.

Job 7-8: awesome as always. Job’s need to cling to his grief, to complain, to cry out is so recognisable and human (especially 7:11). Bildad’s speech is also challening and thought provoking.

What jumped out at me was Job’s questioning of God. Why do you care about humans? Why won’t you just leave me alone?

Will you not look away from me for a while,
   let me alone until I swallow my spittle? 
If I sin, what do I do to you, you watcher of humanity? (7:19-20)

I really recognise this, rather adolescent, desire to hide from God. ‘Oh just leave me alone!!’ The idea that somehow you need some time off from God. It’s an odd idea but it arises, why? Is it that we can’t bear to be seen, really seen, at these times of crisis? Or is that, at times when we’re so focussed on ourselves, we want to deny anything that transcends our own experience. Perhaps it exposes our idea of God as, as Job puts it a “watcher of humanity”, aloof and judgemental, separate somehow. I know that’s not the full story, but sometimes I feel exactly like Job…

So there’s something for you to think about!

 

Leave a Reply

